Honda Shadow Forums banner

Military veterans

86K views 418 replies 286 participants last post by  SargeDiesel 
#1 ·
How many members / riders here are veterans? When, where, and what branch did you serve?

#2 ·
Active Duty, I'm an E4 in the Navy, I've been in for 1.5 years and I work on Naval Air Station North Island.

#3 ·
I served in the US Navy during the Vietnam Era 1969 - 1972 on the submarine USS SKIPJACK SSN 585 and was honorably discharged back into this nutty society. Was E5 when I left the service. I was a Machinist Mate & also a member of UDT for the whole time enlisted. Worked on all the Oxygen Generators and O2 Burners the Air Conditioning plus pumps etc...

Also kept all the screen doors in good condition too!!:mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen:

#8 · (Edited)
US Coast Guard 1979-1996*
Yeoman, First Class (E-6)
Mostly stationed on east coast, New England area, and the eastern Great Lakes (Cleveland, OH and Buffalo, NY).

*In 1996 & 1997 (if you all remember) Congress & President Clinton signed a bill that dropped the 20 year military retirement down to 15 years. Anybody E-5 and above could fully retire at 15 years. I weighted the pros and cons and decided to go for it after 17 years. Word has it that they had to shut it down real quick, because so many members got out!! It was called TERA (Temporary Early Retirement Authorization).

Reactions: 279228
#10 ·
US Army Reserves Lieutenant Colonel (Retired) Aug 1981 - May 2011, Corps of Engineers, deployed to; Kuwait Nov 2001 - Jun 2002, Iraq Feb 2003 - Apr 2004, Iraq Aug 2008 - Jul 2009. Not really deployed but work at USACE HQ Sep 2009 - Dec 2010.

#12 ·
I was turned down when answering the Viet Nam Draft...
BUT I support you,
Thank You

Will participate in;
Rolling Thunder Americus, GA = Sept. 2014
Rolling Thunder DC = 2015

#20 ·