Honda Shadow Forums banner

HID Head Light

904 views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  Anomaly 
#1 ·
OK, so i would like to put in an hid head light in my 1985 Honda shadow vt1100c, has anyone done this??? and if so, where the hell did you put the ballast??? the headlight bucket is full of a lot of wires and there is no room for it.

thanks

Dan Malone

#6 ·
dano4003,

If you are deadset on running an HID headlamp instead of LED, try sending a PM to Furball Zen.
He prefers the HID.

If the bucket is already cram-fulla wires, I would avoid HID, personally.

I have read / heard that HID's get hotter than LED or stock bulbs.

I have read / heard that they require more power to operate than LED.

And have read / heard that the HID ballast ALSO puts off some heat, which is probably not desirable if you already have a large bunch of wires, confined in the same small space.

But I have no practical experience with HID lights, so I have no proof.

Several dozen of us run Cyclops or OPT7 LED's, which use minimal current AND they come with a small cooling fan, built in. And they fit most headlight buckets.

Personally, I wouldn't trade my two Cyclops LED headlamps for a 5 gal. bucket of new HID's.

But that's just my opinion!

#7 ·
Couple things to know about both HID and LED vs Halogen. Both LED and HID can be better than halogen, yet you can also get worse results. The main thing to look for is that you are getting a quality setup. There are a lot of misconceptions about both, and many unethical sellers take advantage of this.