difference between ace, shadow, sabre, etc. - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2007, 09:11 AM   #1 (permalink)

Send a message via AIM to dupmaronews2k Send a message via MSN to dupmaronews2k Send a message via Yahoo to dupmaronews2k
Default difference between ace, shadow, sabre, etc.

ok I always see that theres the vt1100 but then it says ace, shadow, sabre, etc.

only reason I know i have a sabre is becasue thats what the dealer told me when I bought it.

whats the diffrence between these models?

im a college student always looking for cheap parts and good deals. basically what im wondering is if i can put those parts on my bike or not...and i dont mean like engine wise i mean as of seats or accesories on the bike.
Advertisement

Old 03-29-2007, 10:36 AM   #2 (permalink)

The biggest difference is the engines. 1100 ACE's have a single crankpin engine like a Harley. ACE Tourer's, Spirits and Sabres have the dual split crankpin engine. It runs much smoother and makes power over a wider range than an ACE engine, but doesn't make that "potato, potato" sound.

Other that that, it's just styling. Sabres have forward controls, almost solid wheels and tins over the front forks to emulate a Harley Fatboy.

Spirits have mid controls, spoke or mag wheels and a ducktail rear fender to emulate a Harley Superglide.

ACE Tourer's (the best bike Honda ever made) come with hard bags and a windshield to emulate a Harley Road King.
chicago is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2007, 11:19 AM   #3 (permalink)

How does this translate into the smaller bikes 750 and 600?

crankpin wise?

is there any more elaborate breakdown online of parts swapability?

ive wondered the same thing many times!
Old 03-29-2007, 01:44 PM   #4 (permalink)

Send a message via AIM to dupmaronews2k Send a message via MSN to dupmaronews2k Send a message via Yahoo to dupmaronews2k