House smells like gas, petcock left on. - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2011, 08:54 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default House smells like gas, petcock left on.

Hey everybody, I'm Jen, a total newbie here. Both to the board and to motorcycles in general. So I took the class, got the license, bought the bike (a lovely '99 Shadow Aero VT1100). It was delivered yesterday and is GORGEOUS!! However, my new helmet wasn't here yet - so only my boyfriend could take her for a spin. I noticed last night that something smelled funny when I got home, but shrugged it off. Tonight when I got home it was definitely a gas smell. When I opened the garage door - wow. So I found a flashlight and checked out the petcock and sure enough, it was still 'On'. So I turned it to off and opened the garage door halfway. Now - is everything ok? Should I let it sit overnight to air out and start it tomorrow? Should I start it now? Will it start? Thanks a bunch!

Jen
pippichick is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-17-2011, 09:11 PM   #2 (permalink)

just light a match...it wont smell like gas anymore

oh yeah, welcome to the board and enjoy your new bike!
Old 02-17-2011, 09:14 PM   #3 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by reno1051 View Post

oh yeah, welcome to the board and enjoy your new bike!
LOL - I did get a little nervous about making dinner.
pippichick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 09:14 PM   #4 (permalink)

Okay, now I'm the newbie with the question. But I leave the petcock in the "on" position all the time and I've never smelled gas. Do people really turn it off every time, and is leaving it on a risk?

Old dogs, and children, and Watermelon Wine

-- Tom T. Hall

Jay Tee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 09:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Moderator

Mine is always on.

1994 VT1100C Shadow

Windshield, light bar and pipes by previous owner.
Ride Bell by El Dog Star
Patriot Guard Rider