Just another build thread - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2012, 10:33 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Just another build thread

Thought i would start this thread to keep track of my progress. I like to stay pretty organized so hopefully this will help me out along with a chance to get some constructive criticism.

Im 21 years old from around philly and this is my absolute first time diving into a motorcycle build. Im fairly handy and mechanically inclined thanks to my previous and ongoing project of jeeps and vw's. It also helps that i work on bicycles for a living.

On to my motorcycle history...

I got my first bike in 2010 for dirt cheap. It wasnt anything special but ran well and was a great first bike. It was an 83 silverwing. That stayed pretty stock other than some cut pipes.

My second and current bike is a 94 vt1100c that i found in decent condition on craigslist for 2k with 20k miles. My plan is to build a pseudo bobber/chopper that i can ride comfortably on longer rides while still looking decent.

This is how it all began, I rode it like that for a while until i recently started tearing into it.

Finally getting some garage treatment

Disassembly and planning

Made a licence plate bracket

Lowered the rear 4" with some hardtail brackets and started shaping the rear fender

Also started on the pipes and wiring. All of the switches and lights will be rewired for a cleaner look

Started stockpiling parts. New tailight to be mounted above the plate, some exhaust wrap, risers, bars, etc... Also sent a big box of parts to get powdercoated to a friend of mine. Usps lost it so im in the process of figuring out what happened to it

Got my bars in today so i threw them on real quick just to get an idea. I love them! Also started making a new bracket to mount the speedo on the upper fork tubes to clean up the front end.