Throttle position sensor - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-28-2012, 10:09 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Throttle position sensor

Hey, is their anyway to check a TPS to tell if its bad? My buddies bike won't stay running unless you keep rolling the throttle or cracking the throttle halfway open. It's 06 Shadow 750 so it's fairly new. I've tried adjusting the throttle screw and have had no luck their. Not sure what else it could be?
brewcitykidd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-28-2012, 11:29 AM
Member
 
Phantomjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Conway, NH
Posts: 330
The 2006 US Shadows didn't have fuel injection, so no TPS. Sounds like dirty carb or an air leak.

John
Conway, NH
2010 Shadow Phantom
Phantomjr is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-28-2012, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Scaredofmyownshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Evansville, Indiana
Posts: 3,911
Garage
Has he messed with the carbs any? Could have the idle jets out of adjustment.


Sent from my iPhone using MO Free

2002 750 ACE DELUXE
I suffer from CDO ... Its like OCD, but in alphabetical order, LIKE IT SHOULD BE!!!
Scaredofmyownshadow is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-28-2012, 12:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Squamish,B.C
Posts: 203
All the above!! and a gas filter check
vonh is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-28-2012, 01:45 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
I did take the carb off myself that was the first thing I thought of was it needing a cleaning. Surprisingly it was clean with really no build up of any sort. I did add a little sea foam to the tank after to run threw the lines and what not but still no success. The fuel pours freely from the petcock which was another concern of mine maybe some debris caught in their but nope!

Last edited by brewcitykidd; 11-28-2012 at 02:17 PM.
brewcitykidd is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-28-2012, 02:59 PM
Senior Member
 
C.W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northern Utah
Posts: 1,504
My 2005 Shadow Aero 750 shop manual shows a throttle sensor attached to the carb. I believe it's for ignition timing purposes and not fuel. DON'T MESS WITH IT UNLESS YOU KNOW FOR A FACT IT'S BAD.

It sounds like a different problem to me. Like maybe a clogged slow circuit in the carb or a restricked fuel tank breather hose.

Good luck to ya.

2008 Aero 750
C.W. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome