Valve adjustment order? - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2012, 05:40 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Valve adjustment order?

86 Shadow VT500c. I will do my best to explain. Im a noob doing my first rebuild. I have downloaded manual from here. For description sake laets say your looking at the bike from the right hand/throttle side. When you put the timing mark to FT which valves do you adjust? The front single valve on the front cylinder and then ? I hope my description is making sense. I have been trying to adjust my valves for a few days and cant figure out the order. Everything I try I get loud nasty clicking. I understand I will get some mild clicking. But I know my order just isnt right. Any help is appreciated. You guys and gals have always done me good in the past.

Sent from my VM670 using Motorcycle.com Free App
Jts3008 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-23-2012, 07:27 PM   #2 (permalink)

Garage

I have a 2009 Shadow and when I adjusted my valves, FT meant the front piston was at TDC (Top Dead Center) and all three valves were closed (you may have to rotate the engine another 360 degrees if it wasn't on the compression stroke where both rocker arms have "slack" in them). RT meant the rear cylinder was at TDC and all the valves were closed and ready to be adjusted.

Not sure if your 86 would be identical to my 2009 but I would think the general concept would be the same. Hope the information helps . . .

2009 Honda Shadow Spirit 750
-Mustang Seat & Backrest
-Memphis Shades Windshield & Lowers
-Saddlemen Highwayman Saddlebags
-National Cycle Paladin Highway Bars
-Show Chrome Accessories Radiator Cover
-Kuryakyn ISO Pegs (Driver & Passenger)
-Kuryakyn ISO Grips
-Honda Luggage Rack and Sissybar
-Honda Saddlebag Supports
DRVMN is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2012, 08:03 PM   #3 (permalink)