Honda Shadow Forums banner

Popping on Decel and Idle

15K views 31 replies 12 participants last post by  CombatMedic 
#1 ·
I wanted to throw this out there and get everyones opinion to see if we are on the right track.

My uncle (the one that I bought the bike from) and I have been riding and we are trying to resolve a popping issue that I am having with my exhaust. It is only when I release the throttle and when I am idling. Also the Left pipe seems to be a little blue indicating an incorrect mixture.

Here is what we were thinking.

• Replace the exhaust gaskets
  • Re-jet the carbs. He has some or knows where to get some that will work.
  • I was also going to get some pipe wrap and wrap up my pipes.
What do you guys think. I am still new at this. Any other alternatives or suggestions are always welcome.

#3 ·
Welcome
I find that Pop, pop, pop Pleasing...
I can control it too...
IF - When slowing with engine compression, I hold the throttle closed while slowing it does NOT pop,pop,pop,pop,.BUT IF I leave it cracked open slightly It`ll Pop,pop,pop,pop, to my liking...

Try it and SEE for yourself...
Then PLEASE report back, so as I know I ain`t crazy;)

Lets RIDE (pop,pop,pop)

WELCOME

#5 ·
Welcome
I find that Pop, pop, pop Pleasing...
I can control it too...
IF - When slowing with engine compression, I hold the throttle closed while slowing it does NOT pop,pop,pop,pop,.BUT IF I leave it cracked open slightly It`ll Pop,pop,pop,pop, to my liking...

Try it and SEE for yourself...
Then PLEASE report back, so as I know I ain`t crazy;)

Lets RIDE (pop,pop,pop)

WELCOME

Oh Captain-D you may still be crazy.....but I do know what you mean as I have done that as well. You can control the popping at times by how much throttle is being shut down.......Or maybe I'm crazy too? :smile2:

#7 ·
The pipes are not stock. They have been changed. I think that the gaskets were not replaced at the time so I think that may be one of the problems.