Honda Shadow Forums banner

Let the headaches and learning commence!

2K views 15 replies 5 participants last post by  ThirdEyePharoah 
#1 ·
My first babe, shes not pretty but I know in time she will be something magnificent, now the first set of orders.. Figure out whats what, and get a new front brake, un rust everything, and powder coat the frame, then un rust and re seal the tank, hoping to make a bobber out of this thing within a year.. Hopefully. Using this thread as a build journal of sorts. Feel free to chime in, for I am a newbie to the DeathMachine world.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Sweet man is that an 83? I'm doing the same thing you are dude, trying to bob an early model shadow. I have a new rear fender, tail light and exhaust wrap in the mail now and should be here by Tuesday. The engine is sitting on the work bench in my garage tho cuz we blew a head gasket and ran into a few other problems. Just a word to the wise engine parts for a 83 75 are hell to find. Honda doesn't make new valves or piston rings, your pretty much looking at eBay and new-old stock for anything that might need replaced.
Good luck, hope it all goes smoothly for ya

#6 ·
I remember you were saying a few days ago that the bike was going to be delivered. Before you tear it all apart and spend a bunch of money does it run???
It would be a major disappointment if after a lot of work, the engine is no good. I sure would try to see how well it will run first, unless you are totally restoring everything.

#9 ·
It would be a good idea to run it and maybe if the carbs need work, you can schedule that while it is apart. If that reservoir tank is not too badly rusted you can put in a 1/2 gal. of gas and set it back in place to test. The lower part of that tank has the fuel line that goes down to the petcock, filter and pump. If you cant use that tank find a safe container to hook that fuel hose to the petcock.

#11 ·