Honda Shadow Forums banner

Coolant leak

3K views 29 replies 7 participants last post by  swifty2014 
#1 ·
Hey all,
So I just got my '83 Honda shadow vt750c back on the road, took it for a spin and she started getting pretty hot (rode about 20 mins and was almost in the red) looked down behind my left foot to see what appeared to be a puddle of coolant on the ground, and steam pouring out of the bottom of my bike. Got home, Filled up the coolant (took a fair amount) and went to fill up the reserve tank, and as fast as I could fill the reserve, it was pouring out that same hose. I can't find this hose in the cooling system chapter of my manual, but I will attach a picture, it's the longest of the three hoses. Now I'm pretty new to this, can someone help me make sense of all this?
Thanks in advance!!

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Have you looked to see if your cooling fan is working? I'm guessin' not. Why are you just getting back on the road? Did it involve the cooling system or draining and refilling coolant. If so, you may not have all the air out of the system.

#5 ·
Well, if you didn't properly burp the air out of the system before buttoning it up, you need to do that. Take off the radiator cap and top off the system, start the bike and let it warm a bit. Crack the throttle a couple times to clear the air out, turn off the bike, top off the radiator and install the cap, fill the overflow tank to the proper level, and that should do it. Once you know that's right, take the bike out for a test run and watch the gauge. If it's still overheating, check the cooling fan for proper operation. That's covered in your service manual, btw. You do have a service manual, don't you?

#6 ·