Honda Shadow Forums banner

Scared's bike troubles

8K views 90 replies 20 participants last post by  "Captain D" 
#1 ·
Ok, so I checked all the fuses with an ohm meter. All good there. I unhooked the battery and left it off for around 45 minutes while I was checking fuses and searching around for any loose plugs. I was hoping the computer would reset itself and it would fire right up. It did not. I took a plug wire off and put a spare plug in it and it has spark. Good strong spark. It shocked the hell out of me and damn near knocked me on my butt! So, I started to look at fuel. The fuel pump comes on and cycles back off when I turn the key on. So that tells me that it is pressurizing the fuel rail like it's supposed to do. So I squirted some starting fluid in the air cleaner and it fired and ran until it ran out of starting fluid. So for some reason, it's not getting fuel.

I have a degree in automechanics and advanced electronics, but it's been 25 years since I've worked in that field. Pretty rusty.

Does anyone know what tells the fuel injectors to fire? Is it the camshaft sensor? Or something else?

Thanks,

Jason

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

See less See more
#2 ·
Sounds like you're getting it narrowed down. Are the injectors plugged? Not to make light of things, but I couldn't help but laugh envisioning you checking to see if you still had an arm after that little jolt.:wink2:

#3 ·
Yeah, it's been two hours and my fingertips are still tingly.

Injectors shouldn't be plugged. It just suddenly died while I was doing 40 mph. No spit, sputter or anything. Running good, then dead.

#15 ·
No experience with motorcycle F.I. but I would check the throttle position sensor, may have became unplugged or chaffed wires (I have seen this happen on snowmobiles). Unfortunately a BMW scan tool may be needed.

Good luck

Bill

I'll look at that tomorrow also. Scan tool, wow! Pricey!!!

#9 ·