Probable blown head gasket replacement - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 11-22-2016, 08:15 PM Thread Starter

Probable blown head gasket replacement

Hey All!! So as some of you may know, I've been toying with a probable blown head gasket on my front cylinder for some time now. Im taking it to a shop in the next week or two to get confirmation. For $100 they will give the whole thing a once over and tell me all the issues they can find, which I'm sure will be many. So, as i prepare to replace my head gasket(s) and remove the engine as a complete novice, however mechanically inclined, I am looking for advice. Good guides or videos online, mistakes you have made, things to avoid. Do i even need to remove the whole engine or is it possible to replace the gasket on the front cylinder without removing the engine (compression on rear cylinder is 150psi so I'm not worried about that one) I am definitely nervous going into this one, but I'm sure with your help i can get through it. I do have my manual, and will definitely be consulting it, but i find personal advice very helpful. Any help is much appreciated! Thanks guys.

Last edited by WestCooper; 11-22-2016 at 08:19 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 11-22-2016, 11:00 PM

Garage
Not sure if you can do it in the frame and still pull parts off easily.
Study the manual very well so when you have the parts in your hand there is no doubt about the direction or alignment, torque, etc. You have to replace all gaskets on that cylinder when you disturb the torques and remove the upper end bolts. The gasket below the cylinder will leak since it was loosened. And keep ALL HYDRAULIC VALVE PARTS IN THEIR PROPER PLACES. Learn how the cam timing is set also. Some good videos on You Tube.

Only a biker knows why a dog sticks his head out of a car window.
1983 750 Shadow
From the past=
1951 Cushman scooter
1962 Honda 305 Dream