Fuel pump issue - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-10-2017, 03:48 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Splendora TX
Posts: 8
Fuel pump issue

Hey guys, I have a 2007 honda shadow sabre and the fuel pump was clicking loudly and finally went out altogether. I installed an aftermarket pump in the "glove box" but it seems to be too much for the carbs and starts to hesitate really badly. I believe since the factory pump is pulsed and this one is not that may be the problem. It is only rated at 2-4 psi I believe. Can I wire it to pulse power like maybe off of the coils? Or do my carbs just need to be rebuilt to hold back the fuel? Thanks!

mikebrawn1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-10-2017, 05:52 PM
Junior Member
 
crazyoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 25
Hows the fuel filter look?


Sleeping 1984 vt700c. 3400 original miles.Just rode it for the first time ! Its alive!! Former rides 1981 Gs450l ,76 kz750,1969 hodaka ace100
crazyoldman is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-10-2017, 09:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Bens06Sabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chattaroy Washington
Posts: 1,092
this is a U tube video on I think what your trying to do,
but why not just replace the stock fuel pump, mine went out at about 40,000 miles, its a tight fit to get it replace but its do able .

Bens06Sabre is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-11-2017, 12:21 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Splendora TX
Posts: 8
I replaced the fuel filter so its new.
mikebrawn1 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-11-2017, 12:22 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Splendora TX
Posts: 8
Is there a write up on how to change the stock pump? From what I have read you have to pull the rear tire and swing arm to get it out and that doesn't sound like much fun. What the guy did in the video above is what I did. I am just having running issues after the new pump was installed.
mikebrawn1 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-11-2017, 01:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Bens06Sabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chattaroy Washington
Posts: 1,092
When I changed mine , I did not pull the swingarm, I did remove rear tire, and fender, battery, air cleaner assembly, and after that it's just a matter of twisting your hands into places they don't want to fit. LOL Actually its not a quick job, but with patience, and some skill it can be done. I figure why try to change the setup, when its worked all these years, yes hard place to get too, but it works. I have 60000 miles on my 06 Sabre, and besides the fuel pump, only other problem I had was the starter switch, I pride myself in being able to do my own maintenance, and repairs.

Bens06Sabre is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-11-2017, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Ramie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: St. Michael, Minnesota
Posts: 3,206
What pump did you replace your original with?

“My father says almost the wholeworld’s asleep. Everybody you know,everybody you see, everybody you talk to. He says only a few people are awake. And they live in a state of constant total amazement.”


“ From the Movie ‘Joe Vs The Volcano’

1998 Valkyrie Standard
2001 Valkyrie I/S
Ramie is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-11-2017, 09:50 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Splendora TX
Posts: 8
It's a Mr. Gasket 42s. Its rated for 2-3.5 psi.
mikebrawn1 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-11-2017, 04:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Spool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Derrick City, PA
Posts: 1,420
I put a Facet 40104 rated at 2-4 psi in my Spirit 1100. I've never had an issue with too much pressure. Are you sure the hesitation isn't being caused by something else? The diaphragms in the carbs are usually a good culprit for such behavior.

2002 Shadow Spirit 1100
Spool is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-12-2017, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Harryc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 4,604
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikebrawn1 View Post
Or do my carbs just need to be rebuilt to hold back the fuel? Thanks!
Pull the plugs. Are they full of fuel? Could be you just need new float needles.

Harryc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome