Honda Shadow Forums banner

This is my situation...

4K views 23 replies 9 participants last post by  Dustin Burrows 
#1 ·
I came looking for help trying to diag and repair a problem with my Shadow Spirit 750.. I am a microelectronics tech by trade, and can fix everything, basically, but I've never worked on my bike like this.

I left gas in the thing all winter, in my garage, like a moron.
I just replaced plugs, full oil change, filter, new tires, coolant (though I plan to do a coolant flush, now that I have located the radiator cap.. ;)

Previous to, and after my tune up, my bike would run, but only on full choke, and fuel would pour out of my carb overflow tube.
I tried to educate myself...

Believe I am having problems with my carb, so I drained the tank, then the bowl on the carb (1.. I found the other one when I removed the gas tank and air box. I have since drained it, but I have not put the bike back together enough to see if it helped at all.)

I then ran seafoam into my carb, via funnel in the fuel intake, using my fuel pump to push it in there, left it 24hrs.
drained bowl, (1, remember) and flushed it all out with gasoline from the tank till I felt certain it was pure gas again, tried to start it... much white smoke at first.. then back to the same issues...

(I do recall dicking around with my idle adjustment at the end of the season last year, but I dont think it applies here)

I decided whatever it was, stuck float, fubar float... etc, wasnt going to rectify itself so easily..
I have been taking the tank off, (found the other carb drain nipple and screw... Ahhhh I wont forget that next time... ) the air box, the air filter, etc... I can now see two black plungers with a pin running down them. both are extended, both can be pushed up pretty easily... just like the guy's in this video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oBZYice1KTs
These are my floats?