Supercharging a vlx600? - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2007, 11:09 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Supercharging a vlx600?

Okay, this may be a totally stupid newbie question, but here goes:

Can a bike as small as the vlx600 be supercharged? If so, how might one go about finding a reasonably priced supercharger? If this is even possible, would it be preferrable? Someone told me it would be the equivalent of 150cc more displacement!

Thanks, in advance!
drshap is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-23-2007, 11:30 AM   #2 (permalink)

I will be the first to jump in here with my ignorance...but WHY would you want to try this? Just go get a bigger bike. Price alone would justify getting a bigger bike.

But...onto your question...and let me state that I am NOT an expert on superchargers...but isn't a supercharger belt driven? How are you doing to rotate the supercharger? Maybe a turbo charger would be a better solution for you since it uses exhaust gases to spin the turbo.

But...with saying that, typically when you make an addition like this, you need to do internal motor work to change the compression ratio to a rating agreeable to use with the turbo. You also need to consider that the turbo will need oil and I doubt that the Shadow has enough capacity (either volume or flow) to provide a turbo with the necessary cooling/lubricant it requires.

I may be wrong...but I through it out there as food for thought. It IS an interesting thought if it can be accomplished.

Joe
Spirit_1100 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2007, 11:51 AM   #3 (permalink)

I've messed around with turbos a bit on small car engines (in the 1L range). You could probably find one small enough to function on a VLX, but again, why?

You would have to, as a minimum:
Completely fabricate a custom intake and exhaust system