Lacquer thinner as a fuel system cleaner??? - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2008, 09:37 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Lacquer thinner as a fuel system cleaner???

Someone that works on Hondas quite a bit told me to pour one cap of lacquer thinner into a full tank of gas and this will break up deposits and clean up the carbs. Anyone heard of this? I want some agreement before doing this as I don't want to screw up my bike.

Background:
I'm having popping and cracking (backfire) on decel. 03 Shadow Spirit 750 that sat for 3 years. Tanks cleaned 3 times, new plugs, fuel line and fuel filter. Bike is fine after accelerating a few seconds. Think the carbs are loading up but I'm no bike mechanic...yet!

'03 Shadow Spirit 750
insanewizayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-21-2008, 10:06 PM   #2 (permalink)

Send a message via ICQ to AngryHatter

Seafoam.
AngryHatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 11:38 PM   #3 (permalink)

Garage

Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryHatter
Seafoam.
+1 on the Seafoam, after using it in a couple tanks of fuel then see how it does, otherwise you might need to adjust the A/F Mixture Screw.

"John" 2002 Sabre
Patriot Guard Rider
American Legion Rider Chapter 84
Eldorado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2008, 12:32 AM   #4 (permalink)

Seafoam is the nectar of The Gods.
(or so i'm told)
Old 05-22-2008, 07:38 AM   #5 (permalink)

I have heard of using lacquer thinner also. I have never tried it because it seems like using the wrong tool for the job. Seafoam, Techron fuel system cleaner, and things like that are specifically made to attach the bad stuff in a carb, while leaving the seals and other parts in tact. Using lacquer thinner might clean the crud out, but it might also wreck other parts.