Running Rich - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-13-2009, 04:16 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Running Rich

Ok i am new at fixing bikes. I have a question first I have an 1985 vt700c that is running rich to the point that the plugs carbon up so much in less than 30 min to the point it shuts down the bike. Thanks for the help Ray
the85th is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-13-2009, 04:51 PM   #2 (permalink)

Check air supply - filter clogged - vemin nests etc stopping air flow.

Then check the enrichment valves(choke) see if they cable free-play is adeqate to turn off the choke.
Cbjr is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2009, 06:16 PM   #3 (permalink)

ok i have checked the air and no critters. could you explain how to check and adjust the choke the manual i have is king of vague on how to do it thanks again. Ray
Old 04-13-2009, 09:18 PM   #4 (permalink)

Take a look at the assembly #8 that will be the termination point of the choke/enrichment valve assembly.

Click Here

How this works is:
You pull the choke lever the cable pulls a needle valve out of the hole and enrichen the circuit instead of blocking the air.

In order for the valve to close the cable has to be free enough and have enough slack to allow the little spring to push the valve closed.

If you look at the cable labeled #13 the un-numbered cable next to it shows a good example of the enrichment assembly. There is a 14mm nut like cap that is removed and the whole assembly pulls out (watch out for the small spring needle and any other parts to fall out-they are easy to reassemble and easy to lose -put the parts in a small bags and don't mix up the needles). The amount of free play should be noted in your manual - and the cable should move freely.