How to remove carbs from 1986 VT700C? - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2009, 11:51 AM   #1 (permalink)

Garage
Default How to remove carbs from 1986 VT700C?

Hi all,

I have the Honda Service Manual and the Clymer Honda book and have followed their instructions for removing the carbs from the bike, but I am stuck, and have been for the last couple of days. There must be an obvious trick that I am not seeing.

I know it is a tight fit, but with the connecting tubes loose, but in place, it has so far been impossible to remove the carbs.

The problem seems to be that as I pry up on the cylinder connecting tube to free it from the cylinder, the air body connecting tube acts as a spring, pushing down as much as I push up.

Is there a way to easily remove the connecting tubes first to enable the carb removal? I'm sure carb removal becomes an easy process after you have done it a few times, but this is my first time and so far it has been quite a learning process, especially when the service manual makes it seem so simple!

Thanks,

Bobby
VaShadowfax is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-05-2009, 01:20 PM   #2 (permalink)

They get somewhat bonded to the carb, try twisting and or using something to pry the rubber off the carb.
Old 09-05-2009, 06:20 PM   #3 (permalink)

Okay, I've done the 1986 carb removal a few times. I posted one of my first posts about it but it got deleted a few years ago in the HSN server move.

Yes, there is a trick to it! A fellow by the handle of Gumpy clued me in on it, and it saved the day. I haven't heard from Gumpy in a long time, but I'll pass his wisdom along to you.

First of all, get the upper tubes off of both carbs, and loosen the bands that connect them to the airbox at the top. You probably have this done already.