Cleaning up Engine - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-24-2009, 10:05 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Cleaning up Engine

Newbie here. have visited site many times and learned a lot about my Shadow...Thanks everyone!

I am cleaning up the old girl and getting her ready for the road in the spring. The cylinders and clutch housing though looks like it was once painted (poorly) with that old aluminum spray paint %^&*. The clutch housing is also slightly pitted.

I would like to try to restore the look back to oriignal...any tips???
mooneyshadow is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-25-2009, 02:22 AM   #2 (permalink)

+1 unfortunately, you could go for the new mid-night look and use black stove paint which is Hi Temp, it comes in flat or semi gloss.

You could use paint stripper which will dull (etch) the alm and give the new paint a good base to hold to.
Old 12-25-2009, 08:17 AM   #3 (permalink)

These bikes come with a clearcoat over the aluminum to keep it looking new. Unfortunately, eventually it will fade and deteriorate from heat, UV rays, etc.
You can sand off the clearcoat with fine sandpaper (or one of those green 3M pads) then follow up with a polishing kit to brng things back to better than new.
I was able to get old parts looking like chrome with this method. It can get frustrating at time, trying to get into all those cracks and creveses, so it can be time consuming. A Dremel tool helps also. Good luck!
Old 12-25-2009, 10:35 PM   #4 (permalink)

Here is a article that may be of interest.
http://www.thepontiactransampage.com/clear.html
rocksolid is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2009, 02:36 PM   #5 (permalink)

Hey thanks everyone...not the answer I was hoping for, but it is just as I suspected might be the case.