hesitation when accelerating - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2010, 07:36 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default hesitation when accelerating

I need help diagnosing my problem with my 98 honda shadow ACE VT750 with aftermarket pipes. I let it sit for a few months and now it hesitates when accelerating. I replaced the spark plugs today and the left rear was a bit oily. Where do I go from here? I'm new to servicing my bike and am wondering what the next step is?
Thanks,
dirtgirl
dirtgirl2000 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-28-2010, 08:39 PM   #2 (permalink)

First thing you need to do is replace the gas and if it still does it try running some Seafoam thru it, the gas we have now days is not pron to setting around, the alcohol evaporates and what's left is funky stuff plus gas will collect water and it will set in the bottom of the carbs, the Seafoam will take care of that.
Old 08-29-2010, 05:25 PM   #3 (permalink)

Ok,
thanks Ted for the suggestion I am sure it had some gunk in there.
so I have changed the fuel and added seafoam. Ran that tank down and opened it up. It's still hesitating when you are gentle on the throttle and it's backfiring like crazy on any deceleration. What next?
Old 08-29-2010, 06:06 PM   #4 (permalink)

You stated that you have aftermarket pipes, have you had the carbs rejetted yet? Also your idle rpm's might need to be adjusted, I had the issue with backfire and that solved it for me. My 1100 is supposed to run around 1000rpm plus or minus 100.
Old 08-29-2010, 07:17 PM   #5 (permalink)