Honda Shadow 85 VT700 30 amp fuse location - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-15-2010, 03:35 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Honda Shadow 85 VT700 30 amp fuse location

Can someone help me find the location of these fuse. I found the other ones which is the 10 amp but can't find this one. I actually don't know how it look like so it's much harder for me to find it.

My bike's problem is it doesn't have any power(all lights not working). I have no idea why so I called my mechanic and he told me that it might be just the fuse. The battery is good which is less than a year old. I even took it to the shop to have it checked.

I don't have money to pay for a mechanic so I was hoping this is just a simple fix. I don't know why it happened because the bike was running fine the day before that. I was in a hurry that day so i didn't warm up the bike like i usually do. I just started the bike and after a minute I took off. Went to the gasoline station less than a mile from my place. turned off the bike and after that it wouldn't start anymore.

I did a search on this forum and I found out that the 30 amp fuse is near the battery. But since I dont know which one. I decided to post on this forum for help. Picture below




Uploaded with ImageShack.us
wakipoh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-15-2010, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
tubes_rock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northern NH
Posts: 5,231
In your model year, I believe the 30 amp fuse is a fusible link, not a plug-in fuse.

Follow the big red lead from the battery to the first thing you get to. It should be a metal-ish can, about the size of a 35mm film canister. On top of that can will be the 30 amp main fuse, if your has a fuse. I suspect you'll see what looks like two small bolts with a strip of metal between them. In your case, it may be a strip of melted metal. That's the fusible link.

Actually, I just checked the online diagrams to be sure I wasn't leading you astray. In your picture, right above the voltage regulator (the part with the cooling fins on it at the very bottom) is a white plastic box with a black plastic cover. It has two red wires coming out of one end. Inside that box is the 30 amp fuse.

--Justin

Currently Running Stable:
2010 Honda NT700V
1986 Shadow 700
1986 Honda Trail 110 (Postie Bike)
1987 Honda Rebel 450
1973 Honda Mini Trail 50
tubes_rock is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-13-2014, 03:27 PM
Member
 
fencible39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: W. Mass.
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by wakipoh View Post
Can someone help me find the location of these fuse. I found the other ones which is the 10 amp but can't find this one. I actually don't know how it look like so it's much harder for me to find it.

My bike's problem is it doesn't have any power(all lights not working). I have no idea why so I called my mechanic and he told me that it might be just the fuse. The battery is good which is less than a year old. I even took it to the shop to have it checked.

I don't have money to pay for a mechanic so I was hoping this is just a simple fix. I don't know why it happened because the bike was running fine the day before that. I was in a hurry that day so i didn't warm up the bike like i usually do. I just started the bike and after a minute I took off. Went to the gasoline station less than a mile from my place. turned off the bike and after that it wouldn't start anymore.

I did a search on this forum and I found out that the 30 amp fuse is near the battery. But since I dont know which one. I decided to post on this forum for help. Picture below




Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Old thread alert!! But, anyone able to help me with the part number for that 30 amp fuse above? The rectangular box fuse in the picture above that has the red/white wires going to it.

Also, who might carry this part? Can't find one.





'85 Honda Shadow VT700c
Ride bell by "Davor"
fencible39 is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-13-2014, 04:11 PM
Member
 
fencible39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: W. Mass.
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by fencible39 View Post
Old thread alert!! But, anyone able to help me with the part number for that 30 amp fuse above? The rectangular box fuse in the picture above that has the red/white wires going to it.

Also, who might carry this part? Can't find one.
Ok, I found it. The P/N for anyone else that needs the number of the 30 amp fusible link is: 98200-53000, available on Amazon for .95 each.





'85 Honda Shadow VT700c
Ride bell by "Davor"
fencible39 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-13-2014, 08:42 PM
Member
 
scott the pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San diego
Posts: 229
You might be better off replacing the stock lead fuse with a standard plug in fuse. The old lead ones go bad over time. Shouldn't cost you more than 10 bucks at an auto part store.

Scott the pirate

'83 vt750c



scott the pirate is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-14-2014, 08:47 AM
Member
 
fencible39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: W. Mass.
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott the pirate View Post
You might be better off replacing the stock lead fuse with a standard plug in fuse. The old lead ones go bad over time. Shouldn't cost you more than 10 bucks at an auto part store.
I have a couple of those hanging around. Little worried that the wire isn't heavy enough. Might have to spring for a bigger one.
BTW, while looking through the tool kit out popped a 30amp fusible link. Guy that owned it before me must have thought he needed it. I do I know!





'85 Honda Shadow VT700c
Ride bell by "Davor"

Last edited by fencible39; 06-14-2014 at 08:50 AM.
fencible39 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-14-2014, 04:13 PM
Member
 
scott the pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San diego
Posts: 229
The housing for the fuse should have a spare. 12 or 14 gauge wire should work fine for a new inline fuse.

Scott the pirate

'83 vt750c



scott the pirate is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-14-2014, 06:54 PM
Member
 
fencible39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: W. Mass.
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott the pirate View Post
The housing for the fuse should have a spare. 12 or 14 gauge wire should work fine for a new inline fuse.
Good info. Yes, I did find a spare under the cap.





'85 Honda Shadow VT700c
Ride bell by "Davor"
fencible39 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome