New Member - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2012, 01:08 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default New Member

So I'm a brand new motorcyclist and I settled for a 1984 shadow vt700c. I've had it for three days and so far loving it!

The bike runs, but I can tell it needs some clean-up and fine tuning (I'm an amateur mechanic at best)

The idle seems to be pretty inconsistent with the choke/rpm's. I am in Utah and I've started it in sunny, warm weather with the choke fully on - left it in this position for several minutes before taking off, and find myself very slowly inching the choke off only to find that the bike gets slower, slower, stutters and stalls while at a red light. It was only until I left work late at night and the temperature dropped dramatically did I get to take the choke completely off (is this normal?) The bike had been running for almost 30 minutes before I could take the choke completely off.

One last thing that I suspect I will open a separate thread for: I bought a mac 2 into 2 exhaust system for it, apparently I bought the last one available, and was really disappointed to find lack of instructions for install in the box. The pipes were super nice and shiny, and even as inexperienced at mechanics as I am, I was able to follow the repair manual well enough to remove the stock pipes and figure out how to install the new pipes based on it. It seemed like a fairly simple process, but I had a problem - the pipes didn't fit! it appeared that the only way to get the MAC gaskets to even sit on the cylinder far enough in on the studs to thread them was to install them without the O-ring. Does anyone have experience with a system like this? Are they designed to install without the little copper O-ring? if not, is my best bet to take the pipes to a machinist and grind a half-inch off the heads so they can fit over the studs? If anyone knows, that would be awesome.
proto is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links