Crash. No burn. - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2012, 11:18 AM   #1 (permalink)

Garage
Default Crash. No burn.

I had owned my rig for a couple to few years at that point in my life. I forget what year it was. Had a son on the way, my own company, couple mortgages. The bike was out from under it's lien and all the bills were paid.

Got a call from a client. Needed some tweaks to a system I installed. I figured that it was simple enough I didn't need bother with the truck and tools. That day was gorgeous and I was determined to ride.

Yep. I was an idiot NOOB that had no bizniss being in a saddle. My only rider training was a "This does that, that does this.." quickie in the parking lot once all the papers had cleared.

Fast forward to the day. I had nearly 8K miles on the guage and was confident i was an expert on the tarmac considering the numerous events I had avoided.

Off I go. No helmet, t-shirt, shorts, sneakers, cheap goggles, a couple glasses of Merlot in my blood, and a straight stretch of 70mph turnpike all the way through. A perfect recipe for a dumb***.

The ride was amazing. Until,

I come off the turnpike onto the off-ramp which a long sweep right and then a long sweep left, the second being a little more aggressive than the first. At this point it occurs to me that I've not had much experience in curves at speed as I lean through the first turn and approach the second.

I'm focused. I'm speeding. I'm pushing on the bars to counter into the next turn. I'm checking the roadway directly in front of my wheel and think "I should be looking up to where I want to go".

I look up, and see, a dog! In the middle of the freakin' road.