Honda Shadow Forums banner

Maybe you can help

2K views 36 replies 13 participants last post by  gdb069 
#1 ·
Hi

Newbie here.

I came in a motorcycle dealer with no pre-determined idea of which motorcycle to buy. I had other bikes before, mostly sport bikes. I am not a fan of cruisers so I was indifferent to the many choices of cruisers (from Yamaha, Kawasaki, Suzuki, Honda, Harley ...) that were presented to me. I was only looking for something more comfortable than sport bikes. After sitting on the Bolt, the Vulcan, the Shadow Phantom, the HD Softail Slim ... I ended up leaving the dealer with a brand new Shadow RS (VT750RS) because I preferred the more upright sitting position of this bike. However, I knew nothing much about the Honda Shadow bikes.

I used my RS daily for a few months and didn't like it. I didn't like its look (as I don't like the look of cruisers in general). The rides were ok, a lot of torque compared to my sport bikes, but nothing that would make me feel passionate about this bike. Then I went back to my sport bike for a long while, and stopped riding the RS, all the while thinking of selling it.

During this time, I found myself missing the RS, and even now I still don't know why I missed it. So I took the RS out of its semi-retirement, started to use it again.

One day I met a Harley guy, a rather nice guy, during my weekend rides. He pointed his finger to my RS and told me "do the regular maintenance and this Shadow will last you forever" ... Huh ? So he got me even more curious about the Shadow. Then I did some online search and ran into this forum, so I thought maybe you folks can share with me the reasons why you like the Shadow and that might help me realize why I start to like this specific cruiser ? And since I don't know much about the Shadow in general, why did that Harley man tell me the Shadow would last forever ? Does the Shadow has a good reputation for reliability ? Anyhow, the idea of selling it is evaporating day by day.