Motorcycle Helmet - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-14-2017, 12:23 PM Thread Starter

Motorcycle Helmet

I am new to the motorcycle world and was wondering what kind of helmet would be good for a first timer learning the ropes.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-14-2017, 01:20 PM

Garage
I would say it's a question of if you want to start with an open face or full face.
I am a new rider (a few weeks now) and started with the BELL 500 and its a excellent open face helmet
I am considering the Scorpion 510, I think it is a great value for the $

That is where I am at after trying a lot on at the shop, reading a lot on the forums, and watching lots of reviews on Revzilla

"Eve" my 2013 Phantom
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-14-2017, 01:31 PM

Garage
I bought not very expensive Modular and I really like the easy to get on and off feature of a modular. Still can open the shield for venting, etc. Many people buy the most expensive they can so it is up to you and your budget.
I also have a 3/4 helmet that is nicer on hot days but you loose some protection for your face.

Only a biker knows why a dog sticks his head out of a car window.
1983 750 Shadow
From the past=
1951 Cushman scooter
1962 Honda 305 Dream
1965 Honda 305 Dream
1971 Honda 175 scrambler

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-14-2017, 02:00 PM

No expert here, but here is what I know from my research when I started riding recently.

That is an image of the distribution of damage found on helmets after crashes in a study done by Dietmar Otte of the Hannover Medical University, Department of Traffic Accident Research in Germany. Note that almost 35% of that damage is on the chin bar. So if you wear an open-face you're giving up protection from 1/3 of impacts.