I have an 1984 Honda Shadow VT500 With a Starter Issue - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-17-2017, 04:04 PM Thread Starter

I have an 1984 Honda Shadow VT500 With a Starter Issue

Hey guys,

So my shadow wont start. I am pretty sure that it is my starter motor, but I am no mechanic and that is why I am here.

I tried starting it last week and got a single click from the solenoid when i would push on the starter button.

So thinking that it was a weak battery, i checked and it was a little weak, so I charged it up & put a jump box on it to try to further diagnose (until i make it into town to buy a new battery). I checked the voltage at the battery, then through the solenoid & they were the same. Then I checked it at the positive post to the starter and found that it was a loose connection on the starter. Once i tightened that up, I checked the voltage to the starter and it was the same all the way through. I put the negative on the back side of the starter motor to see if it was a grounding issue or not. Same voltage all the way though, with nothing out coming out of the starter. Upon further review, it looks like there is some discoloration/rust around the positive post on the SM.

If i take it off, there is a electrical repair shop down the road that I would bring it to and get their opinion on weather it is able to be rebuilt good as new, or time to buy a new one.

Being in a small town, there isnt really many mechanics. There are a few here and there but no one who seems overly helpful, or that seems to wants my business (as in, i leave a few voicemails, and no call backs). Hot wiring the starter doesnt seem to do anything. Briding the solenoid doesnt seem to do anything. I have tried to roll the bike backwards in first gear to try to get the starter to turn manually but with no luck.