Honda Shadow Forums banner

Bought from a friend, starting to regret

1K views 10 replies 8 participants last post by  "Captain D" 
#1 ·
Good morning, all. I recently purchased a 2004 Shadow Spirit 1100 from a friend who was looking to unload it. I didn't do any research. I also didn't know how much work it needed. At any rate, it's my bike now. I took it to the local metric bike shop for a once over only to have the tech proceed to tell me that he's "never seen a Shadow that runs clean". I'm no mechanic, but he said this in the context of having to clean out the carburetor. I do notice that the bike is sluggish when starting from a dead stop in 1st gear, but it seems to run OK otherwise.

I guess I'm hoping to get some advice on things I can do to ensure the bike is running optimally and possibly capable of a safe, weekend road trip without spending too much more money on it. The bike appears to be stock with no after-market parts. As I said, I'm no mechanic, but I feel comfortable with minor things like changing the oil and spark plugs.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

#2 ·
I welcome you @JustMike ...
Some folks run a few treatments of SeaFoam or BerryMans through the fuel tank for a better running Bike which a "tech" said the carbs need cleaning...
Many report back that was all the cleaning the carbs needed...
Welcome,
D

#3 · (Edited)
Yep. The fellow I got my 1100 from had gone through it and replaced all the fluids, jetted to match the pipes, tuned, etc.. However, the bike sat mostly over the summer and when he rode it back and forth to work he never got it to highway speeds. Then it sat some more.

When I got it the bike was a snarling beasty around town, but when I would take it out and head up to the 65-75 mph range the bike would kick, cut, and act up. You could rack down on the throttle and it would kick in and go above 75 mph. But in that zone it sucked.