Engine cut out while idling, now nothing - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-20-2019, 11:26 PM Thread Starter

Model: VT600C
Year: 2003
Engine cut out while idling, now nothing

Works, starter doesn't click or turn over, no lights not instument, or riding . Since I his happened a fair distance from my place, I have not been able to get back to it with any tools to figure out what's wrong. Funny thing is I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT I SHOULD LUG WITH ME, anyone have any suggestions ?
A little information and history on my bike .
Since I got it exactly a year ago today lol, I have been noticing strange things, very few for the first 6 months and nothing serious what happened it didn't happen again . After month 6 it sometimes would not start first try then sometimes on second etc . When it wouldn't start I would either get a click sound or the starter would turn over but wouldn't start. I would just have to wait a few minutes and it would start up. Then that stopped and it just would not start it would click and after a few trys it wouldn't do that either , so I got a new battery it in and it was fine. A week or so later my lowbeams stopped working, and then my left turn signal, I replaced the bulbs, the low beam burned out right away, checked the fuses they were fine. A month later, it did it all again but much faster. Got another new battery, when swapping it and the old on out I noticed the old one had popped off the top.cover of the battery!! Put the new one in nothing . Walked to the nearest machanic , who had it for five weeks and could not figure out what was wrong with it, I then took it to the Honda rep. Here and they wanted me to do the 9000 mile tune up( 1000.00$).before they would diagnose it!! WTF! ( It's a 2003, it's not worth much more than a 1000.00), then they said the seals were shot another 800.00. the mechanic I usually take it was finally back and had an opening (a month later) took it in o