Greetings from MN! - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-21-2013, 02:24 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Greetings from MN!

Hello everybody!

My name is Tim, and I'm new to the bike world. Ever since I was a kid, bikes have intrigued me, particularly cruisers-turned-bobbers. Unfortunately, I've never been able to get one for myself.

Fast-forward to present day, I've getting closer and closer to the reality of me getting a bike. Originally, I was looking at Rebels. Seeing that I'm 5'6", 150lbs, and have no riding experience; the Rebel seemed like a fitting choice. But everybody I talk to tells me that I'd grow out of the 250cc very quickly. Which leads me here...

The Shadow seems like the next step up from its little brother. It seems as though prices and parts availability is pretty well too. Add that to Honda reliability, and you have a solid pick.

So what are you guys' thoughts on the Shadow for my situation? Is it a good fit? Too big/little for a guy like me?

Thanks!
-tim

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-13-2017, 01:06 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Thread Revival!

Hi all! So after ~4 years of lurking on this website dreaming of bikes, I've finally acquired a Shadow today! But before I get there, I should tell you my journey prior to getting the Shadow.

So growing up, I've always wanted two kinds of bikes: 1.) an old school vintage bike turned cafe racer; and 2.) a Honda Shadow stripped down into a bobber. Well back in 2013, I stumbled upon a gem of a bike. A 1975 Honda CB550 that was owned by widow's late husband. It was sitting in their barn since 1997 untouched. I got it for a player price, trailered it home, popped in new spark plugs, new gas, a new battery, and BOOM - she fired right up!