Motorcycle weather - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-03-2019, 11:45 AM Thread Starter

Motorcycle weather

Anyone ride in the rain? I’m a little nervous too probably because im new to it, but because it’s winter we have been getting a lot of crazy weather. Any thoughts?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-03-2019, 12:20 PM

Model: 1100 AERO
Year: 1999
Where are you located? Probably makes a difference.

I'm in SOCal so it doesn't really rain here. But I did ride to work and back one day and it wasn't too bad. Just make sure you wear waterproof gear. I only wore a raincoat and so my pants got soaked lol

post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-03-2019, 12:21 PM

Model: Vt750
Year: 1983
Garage
I am up in the Seattle area. Plenty of rain, and I am old, and I don't like by bike filthy, so I just watch the rain fall.My tires don't have the best feel of traction either so maybe when I get some sticky tires I will venture out when it is wet more often.

Only a biker knows why a dog sticks his head out of a car window.
1983 750 Shadow
From the past=
1951 Cushman scooter
1962 Honda 305 Dream
1965 Honda 305 Dream
1971 Honda 175 scrambler

post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 01-03-2019, 12:33 PM
Super Moderator

Model: 750 ACE Dlx
Year: 1998
Back when I was still a beginning rider I took an all day motorcycle safety class at the local college and it rained all day long. The class was about 2-hours in the classroom and another 6-hours on the riding course; in the rain.

I complained to the instructors about the bad weather and instead they told me how lucky I was to be able to practice the maneuvers in the rain. They said not only would I learn the maneuvers but I would also learn the limits of my bike on wet pavement. Riding in the rain doesn't bother me as far as safety is concerned. But if it's cold and raining, that I can't stand!