Question about riding on the freeway - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 09:51 PM Thread Starter

Question about riding on the freeway

Hey everyone I have a quick question for you all about riding on the freeway: how do you get used to the wind pushing you? I just started riding about 3 weeks ago and just hopped on the freeway for the 1st time yesterday, and it was pretty scary. The speed isn't the issue, it was the wind(I live in the Bay Area). I am worried that it may push me into another car or something. Maybe I could get some advice/pointers.

Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 10:47 PM

Model: VT1100C
Year: 1994
Garage
Practice and experience.
Always expect it.
When alone, I tend to ride just to the left of center (staying out of the middle where crap tends to collect) so if wind moves me either way, I have room. Learning how to react to it is a big thing, do not over-react, which is common when new.
If it is a constant wind, you tend to lean sideways a little into it, and then sway when it stops.

One thing to remember when passing/being passed by a semi is they will give you a good side wind. These are good practice times how to handle the bike since you can expect them to happen and learn to adjust.

1994 VT1100C
Starfire 185/65/15 rear tire (Darkside)
Perilli MT66 Route 110/90/19 front tire
Progressive 430HD Rear Shocks
Mustang Seat
National Cycle Windscreen

post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 11:34 PM Thread Starter

Thank for that information! I am hoping to practice on weekends when there is less traffic. But to be honest, it still scares me a bit...

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 11:50 PM

Model: Spirit
Year: 2002
Garage