Honda Shadow Forums banner

Question about riding on the freeway

1K views 15 replies 10 participants last post by  Chewsifer 
#1 ·
Hey everyone I have a quick question for you all about riding on the freeway: how do you get used to the wind pushing you? I just started riding about 3 weeks ago and just hopped on the freeway for the 1st time yesterday, and it was pretty scary. The speed isn't the issue, it was the wind(I live in the Bay Area). I am worried that it may push me into another car or something. Maybe I could get some advice/pointers.

Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk

#2 ·
Practice and experience.
Always expect it.
When alone, I tend to ride just to the left of center (staying out of the middle where crap tends to collect) so if wind moves me either way, I have room. Learning how to react to it is a big thing, do not over-react, which is common when new.
If it is a constant wind, you tend to lean sideways a little into it, and then sway when it stops.

One thing to remember when passing/being passed by a semi is they will give you a good side wind. These are good practice times how to handle the bike since you can expect them to happen and learn to adjust.

#4 ·
Welcome. I think fighting the winds at higher speeds just comes with experience. You may want to take some backroads at a little slower pace on a windy day to get a little more used to all the different directions wind affects you. A hard cross wind can move you over when not expecting it. I was doing a study on aerodynamics and anything over 55 mph starts to exponentially use more horsepower and causes exponential wind drag as well. Be careful learn good riding techniques and have fun. Check out youtube. There are lots of good traffic tips.

#5 ·
Just curious... Do you have Windshield? Without one my top speed is about 60 or 65 mph so I don't ride on an interstate without one.