New member just got my first Shadow. More motorcycle, more problems? - Honda Shadow Forums : Shadow Motorcycle Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-19-2019, 10:36 AM Thread Starter

New member just got my first Shadow. More motorcycle, more problems?

Hi, I'm new to the cruiser game but Honda's the best and I've always said I wanted a Shadow for a cruiser. This bike is so freaking cool but since I've gotten it home it has done nothing but made me miss my Hornet.

So I purchased this 1986 Shadow VT1100c running from a guy in GA. It was lovely and for a good price. Maybe too good? But it was just what I was looking for.

I bought the bike and rode it home with minimal issues. It made an enjoyable ~300 mile trek that got me home in the evening. I was so excited to show my SO in the morning, so our first time stepping outside I had to start it for her. Owner stated it takes a couple starts in the cold to get it going. A couple starts is all it took before the battery died. Great. Added that moment to the long list of running jokes my SO gives me **** for. Got me one of those snazzy Lithium Ion batteries to get the engine turning. But not without issues, now.. and the battery isn't the source of the problems.

But I feel like I screwed myself on this whole thing. I ignored red flags that I may should've walked away from. Number one being the bike was freshly warmed up when I got there. I think my excitement stifled my prudence. The other red flag was that it did this thing where when snapping the throttle wide open it bogged. You could gradually get on it and get power, but if you opened it too fast it fell on its face pretty much. His story on that was it all went away after warming up completely because it didnt like running cold. Everything else checked out, so I left with it. Proper temp or not, that thing never went away. I figured it was something I could get to over time. Research showed a possible main jet improperly sized.