Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 20 of 82 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I haven't posted in awhile but here I am a semi newb trying to take advantage of the early riding season in florida but my bike won't start!
Here's the symptoms & what I've done so far.
Symptoms:
Bike cranks every time, but doesn't always start. About half the time it turns over & runs for 2-4 second, then dies.

What I've done do far:
Replaced the battery; old 1 was about 2 yrs but took it to auto store and it tested bad. New ones charged & reads 12.6 VDC.
Drained carburetor from drain valves. Though I have no container or hose small enough to get in there and catch the gas with so I couldn't tell if there was any water in it. Was clear coming out and smelled fine.
I then put about 1/4 can of seafoam in the tank with a couple gallons of gas, and let it sit overnight.
Tried starting it again, same behavior, checked drain valves agn and there was gas agn so I'm definitely getting fuel to the carb.
I haven't checked for spark yet but I've no good reason to suspect they're bad, they're new last year and carb was serviced by a mechanic 2 years ago. I'll prob double check them anyways later today if I have time.
I visually checked carb drain hose, even felt around w a length of wire, clear.
Oh and if course I checked that I'm in neutral, have kill switch on, tried choke full on, off and every fraction in between.
I've also tried cursing, talking to it sweetly, and threatening to trade her in for that c90t I've been eyeballing.
One weird thing I noticed also is on 2nd discharge line of left side which has a cap on it, I noticed fluid so I drained it and got about 2 table spoons of oil out. No smell of gas. But I thought that was the air cleaner box discharge by the diagram in service manual however maybe I'm mixed up with the crankcase or something. It's right behind the kick stand.
Any help anyone can offer would be HIGHLY appreciated!