Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, I can't find where to post anything so I am going to do it on here. I bought a 1985 Honda Shadow 700vt from this guy a few months ago. It is my first bike and I was excited to be introduced into the motorcycle world. When I first saw the bike, it started right up and seemed to run like new. However, once I bought it and I rode it for like 2 weeks, it all of a sudden began having issues. I continuously broke down and the bike would not start. I have had problem after problem with this damn thing and Im beginning to regret all of this. I constantly get to a point where I think I got the damn thing running good, but it will only run well for like 48 hours, then go right back to being nonfunctional. Additionally, I don't have the money to take it in to a shop to get the diagnosis. I am a college student who is learning all this while he goes, so I turned to forums for my last ditch effort. I have changed the oil, oil filter, spark plugs, fuel filter, I even got rid of all the rust in the tank, drained all the old gas, put all new gas in it, pulled the carb like 8 times and thoroughly cleaned it. I even put a new battery in it. I feel like I have done nearly everything, but still, it has gotten to the point to where it doesn't work. I rode in about 10 miles after working on it all day, and drove it back to my house, no problems at all. I even drove it to work for two days after that. Then, I went to go start it up and sure enough, same issues. It starts fine, then as I begin to drive, the idle starts bouncing all over the place. The bike starts slowing down and the more gas I give it, the faster it dies out, until eventually it quits, wont start, and I have to walk it all the way back home. Now it is in my drive way, I have yet again replaced fuel lines and fuel filter and it wont start. I pull the clutch in, turn the gas on and hold start and it just tries and tries and