Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
457 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All, I'm a newb to Honda's, having previously owned a Suzuki Savage (LS650) bobber. I recently had a friend of mine give me his 86 honda shadow 700, stating that if I could get it running, it was mine. Thus far, I've put the tender on it and the battery has been charged. The tank was removed and I'm in the process of trying to work my way through getting it back up and running, which will be process. One of the things I can't find anywhere is the service\repair manual for this year and size. Does anyone have any ideas where I can find one? I can get ahold of a physical copy, but I'd love a electronic copy.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
457 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
And if anyone has advice on how to get the tank back on, it would be appreciated. Do I put it on first, then do the two hoses? Or the hoses, then the tank?

·
Registered
5,352 Posts
You people must start taking photographs before you undo things..You have two areas of fault finding to do..electrics and fuel..

You don't need a tank to check the electrics..

Do you know how to test for spark?

John.

·
Registered
457 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
As to the undoing of things, it was off when I inherited the bike.

To check for spark, wouldn't that be a screwdriver and testing the starter?

·
Registered
5,352 Posts
No..

First you need a good battery..a $10 Digital multimeter and a spare spark plug..

The battery should read 12.6 volts measured on the dc volts scale..

put the bike into neutral.. the kill switch to run and switch on the ignition..

press the starter..the engine should turn over..

now pull one HT lead off any sparkplug and fit the cap on the spare sparkplug..Press the thread of the spare sparkplug firmly against the metal part of the engine with a piece of wood..

Look closely at the sparkplug electrode while getting someone to press the starter..do you have a spark?