Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!

I am new to the website, but have been reading this forum for the last six months (since I started riding) and am constantly blown away about how amazing this forum is. Everyone is so knowledgable and helpful. I'm brand new to motorcycling, but I love it already and I love the enthusiasm and generosity that everyone shows -- something that is unfortunately rare these days. I decided to join because I have a technical problem and I need help.

I bought my 86 VT700 about five months ago for pretty cheap ($1350), and was told that the bike was in fine working condition. Being a newbie, I took the seller's word and bought it, and started driving, and learned that it needed a lot of work. The main problem was shifting from 1st into 2nd gear, ESPECIALLY when the engine gets warm (when it is cold, it would work fine), where it gets stuck in neutral and won't shift up. There were also electrical problems (light bulbs out, etc.). Once the engine warms up, it is nearly impossible to shift it from 1st to second. I took it to a pretty reputable shop here in Los Angeles, and got a lot of things fixed for a pretty hefty price, but it drove a lot better (I got all the fluids changed, new brakes, new clutch gaskets, a ton of electrical work). The shifting problem seemed to clear up for my short trip from my apartment to school since the engine doesn't warm up too much.