Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, I'm Chris and I'm Shadoholic. Long time lerker, first time poster. Friends I'm somewhat stumped.

tl;dr 30A blown, fried relay, replaced, still no lights.

Full story from the beginning. I've got two of these exact same 98 Vt1100c3's. I got them from a buddy who had wrecked one and got another, & used the old one for parts. Bought them from him rode the first one around for a couple years until my dumbass rode north and forgot to put antifreeze in the bike. Only ever had water in it so living in Florida I didn't put much thought into it. This should suffice to set the premise. I'm not a stupid man, but I more often than I'd like, I do some dumb sh*t.

Since you have to pull the motor to change the water pump anyway, I decided to move all the good parts to the second bike, that has now been sitting for some 5+ years and slowly raped of all goodness. (I'm a mechanical engineer and very mechanically inclined by upbringing.) And, I figured disassembling one would be an excellent learning tool to re-assemble the second. All went surprisingly well and I've been riding around on this thing now for just over 8 months daily. So to the problems.

Some minor things, oil seeps out of cam plugs, clutch plugs. Not so minor is that the bike wouldn't charge up the battery and I'd have to put it on the trickle every couple days after riding. But sitting for a few days it holds a charge no problem (no phantom drain). I didn't feel like f*ckin with it too much until it was necessary as this is my only mode of transpo atm. I literally bought a new stator, r/r, new relay, new fuel pump and filter, and carb rebuild kit two weeks ago, gearing up to fix the problem. Of course as life would have it, no couldn't wait.