Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

New to this forum, so I am sorry if this isn't in the right place.

I am looking to purchase my first motorcycle. I found a 1999 Honda Shadow on FB.

The good: New Stator, regulator, and rectifier. New valve cover gaskets, new battery, new plug wires. Tires less than 6 months old. Memphis detachable windshield, Mustang front and rear seat.

The bad: 50k miles and the guy says it is leaking from the oil pump gasket. I've tried looking up parts on that and couldn't find much. I'm a mechanic so I could more than likely perform any repairs needed.

He wants 1000 but I may be able to talk him down to 750-800, its been on there for over a week.

Is that a good buy or is this bike more than likely on its last legs?

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

·
Registered
12,364 Posts
Welcome . Might be a great bike since it sounds like he took good care of it. The oil pump is inside the right engine cover so no gasket to leak externally. A lot of the 1100s in certain years had a shifter guide plug get loose and leak on the left side near the gear shift shaft. If that is it, a lot of guys here have the fix for you.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welcome . Might be a great bike since it sounds like he took good care of it. The oil pump is inside the right engine cover so no gasket to leak externally. A lot of the 1100s in certain years had a shifter guide plug get loose and leak on the left side near the gear shift shaft. If that is it, a lot of guys here have the fix for you.
Thanks for the info!
So should I be worried about the miles on the bike? I’ve heard that some people get 85k plus before doing anything super major. Thanks for the fast response. Probably going to go look at it tomorrow.

·
Registered
11,016 Posts
Thanks for the info!