Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
4 degree timing mod from www.sa750.com

Hey folks,

I know I've asked a similar question before but I really want to be sure I have my head wrapped around the concept before I do this mod. Since I am not an engine mechanic but can do simple bolt-on mods...

So... when I do this mod I am advancing the timing 4 degrees. This means that the spark fires earlier? Assuming I am correct, this would mean less compression, right? (since the piston had not traveled all the way to the top of the cylinder) and would not less compression equal less power? Obviously there is a flaw in my understanding somewhere, else this would not be something anyone would want to do.

thanks,

Scott

·
Registered
865 Posts
Someone can correct me if I'm wrong, but I think the idea behind advancing the timing, which does cause the plug to fire earlier as you said, is to allow the flame front in the combustion chamber to be well developed just as the piston is starting past top dead center. This will create higher cylinder pressure and more down force on the piston. This can also cause the engine to "ping" especially under load at low speed, so a higher octane fuel may be required. I also plan to try this mod on my bike this spring. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
21 Posts