Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I just bought an 84 shadow vt700c and I've got a few questions. I am totally new to motorcycles so I apologize if I have some Newbie questions or comments. I bought the shadow because it seemed like it would be a great starter bike, and the price was right.

Here's the problem. I bought this bike knowing it would be a fixer upper but it runs well. The main problem I have right now (other than visual issues) is that the brake light is not hooked up to either the rear foot pedal or the front hand lever. The brakes work fine, and the brake light lights up, but does not get brighter when you hit the brakes. The P.O. has rigged what looks like a coat hanger wrapped around the foot pedal going back the switch near the rear fender that you pull out on to get the light to brighten, so the foot pedal actually works, but I'd like to get it working correctly. I have looked online and cannot find the cables that go to it. (may have actually found them, but didn't know what I was looking at or if it would work on my make/model). I am also a bit perplexed as to how they actually hook up. If anybody knows exactly what cables I need and how they go on I would be extremely grateful. Thanks!

·
Registered
2,023 Posts
Hi,

I have an 84 VT700c also...

The rear brakes have two cables that make it work, the big thick one that actually activates the brake assembly to make you stop, and a smaller one that activates the brake light switch.

The cable that you need is number 4 in this diagram: OEM Parts Honda SHADOW (VT700C) 1984 PEDAL - Cheap Cycle Parts it attaches to the spring (number 5) which hooks into the switch/wiring harness (number3).

Once you have it hooked up you will need to zip tie it to the big cable as close as possible to the brake pedal assembly or the sheathing will pop out of the hole and the brake light will stay on.