Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1984 Honda VT700C Shadow
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently just bought an 84 vt700c shadow. Its my first bike ever. I paid $500 and it's in pieces. I found a great pdf manual online already and I'm about to start putting it together. Any advice? I've never messed with a bike before and I'm in for some fun. I know already that I'm going to need a keyed ignition and a keyed gas tank cap, also a brake light and possibly a back seat or something to cover the wires for now. I'm new at this and have no clue where to begin searching for parts. Any help would greatly be appreciated. Thank you all. WIN_20200605_04_47_31_Pro.jpg WIN_20200605_04_47_41_Pro.jpg

·
Premium Member
1999 Shadow 750 ACE VT750CD3 Modified
3,030 Posts
A good fun ride when it's done.

There's OEM Honda parts from the US warehouses this is just one source, there are lots of other online dealers who can source the same stuff for varying prices 1984 Honda Shadow 700 VT700C Parts - Best OEM Parts Diagram for 1984 Honda Shadow 700 VT700C pieces are getting a little sparse for the older bikes.
There may be more OEM stuff for a price from this place https://www.cmsnl.com/honda-motorcycles_model2/ Be aware that the VT700 was only sold in the US due to political reasons and had a slightly larger cylinder bore in the rest of the world giving 750cc. Most stuff is interchangeable between the two versions, this is something to keep in mind when it comes down to looking for parts worldwide either new or used.
For used parts eBay is your best bet although things show up on Craigslist too.
Also ask here in the forums there are a surprising number of the early to mid '80's bikes still on the road and when things get to that age they are pretty much DYI owners and may have the bit you are looking for or at leeast specific informed advice.