Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello world,

i just bought an 86 Honda Shadow VT1100C and i was a new bike buyer. i bought it knowing i was naive & impatient and i'm getting what i expected (but hoped wouldn't happen)....

the tank is rusted, but this version has an auxiliary tank and i'm contemplating removing it myself. i'm not bike-savvy but i'm a student for sure- i've been researching, watching videos, taking notes, and studying the manual for every little thing i need done. it looks like i'll have to remove the rear tire in order to pull the auxiliary tank out of the frame from the rear.... a few questions:

*i have the bike on the center stand, not jacked up....if i'm committed to just using the center stand, will i have to remove the fender?

*is rust removal in the rear tank going to be the same process i'd use for the main tank (whether electrolysis or lining it...) and would it just be worth it to pay some money to get both tanks professionally de-rusted?

*anybody ever removed this sub-tank before or had experiences with it? it's intimidating to me and i don't want to be elbows deep in something i can't handle (i.e. putting it back on, removing the fuel valve, etc...)?

thanks!
Mrs. Moto

·
Registered
1983 Honda vt750 Shadow
19,336 Posts
Here are the instructions from a Haynes manual. I have never done this but the manual should help.

Attachments

·
Registered
44 Posts
Mrs. Moto,

I'm doing the EXACT same thing to my bike. I have a 1986 vt1100 that I'm rebuilding as well. It was sitting out for 9 years and the main tank was rusted really bad, the sub tank rusted but useable. I'm also rebuilding the engine due to rusted cylinders and valve seats. They never held compression.

Ok, the tank isn't super hard to remove, but there is a decent amount of work involved. It'll probably take you about an hour and a half or less.