Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What should my output charging be from the alternator?
Bike died on a ride this weekend. Put a new battery in on the road and when I got home battery was at 93%.
Also to note when the bike was jumped it would not stay running. Is that normal or can the charging system keep a bike running if it's working, kind of like a car?
Tested the charging when I got home also, and the voltmeter registered at 12.30. When I turned off the bike the voltage jumped to 12.71. I'm a mechanic so I know that somethings wrong but where do I start on this? Thank you.

·
Registered
4,077 Posts
Was the new battery pre-charged?

At idle the stator is producing minimal and insufficient voltage. Metric bikes don't have a true alternator but a stator.

You want to perform a stator test to proof your charging system. Takes 2 minutes. Plenty of youtube videos or some member might chime in with the links and procedure. A regulator (RR) test won't hurt either.

But before you do that, the plug that joins the stator wires to the RR wires is a known trouble spot for stator charging systems. The plug is opaque white and it's easy to detect telltale signs of overheating etc. The blade terminals and their crimps might be toast.

·
Registered
1995 VT1100C2
3,666 Posts
I have been looking at this issue for a long time but have never experienced the problem so have not commented. Now that my bike is approaching 25 years I am curious so... I have the stock 95 VT1100C2. I did add spotlights but never use them. I am wondering if the members who have this problem have added any components ie changing horn, lights, etc.

My bikes are stored inside and well maintained so no corrosion etc.

·
Registered
725 Posts
Sounds like no charge at all, lower when running as battery is powering lights and ignition.