Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, since I'm new to this game and I don't want to mess anything up I figured I would ask you guys for some advice.

In our area we are looking at about 2 weeks of crappy weather. I really don't plan on riding in this so I suppose my question is when do you determine it is proper to put the battery maintainer on the bike?

If it's going to be sitting 2 weeks should I mess with it? If it's going to be sitting a month? Where is the line drawn there?

PS I may cry a little when I put the cover on her for the winter...

·
Registered
506 Posts
Sadly, I live in an apartment, and there's nowhere for me to plug in a battery maintainer outside, so I'm going to have to pull my battery and put it on a maintainer inside for the winter.

That's a good question though. I'd hate to pull my battery out, then two weeks later get a good few days and have to mess with putting it back in, then taking it back out when I'm done.

In for an answer on how long we can go with letting it sit.

·
Registered
3,311 Posts
U can get away with 2 weeks no prob and hey if it dies then just
Plug it in what the hell right? I usualllllly plug mine in at winter storage time that's all
It maintains the battery at levels an shuts off and one when needed
But 2 weeks should be fine
a month would be pushing it if u never start it at all
Start it up now an then let it run it should be good but it allllways best
To plug it in

·
Registered
4,478 Posts
Makes me wonder.... since I installed my battery tender I plug in every night. It shuts itself off so I figured I'm OK....right?

·
Premium Member
2,270 Posts
Makes me wonder.... since I installed my battery tender I plug in every night. It shuts itself off so I figured I'm OK....right?
Right.
I like succinct answers.:wink:

·
Premium Member
2,270 Posts