Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey yall, Ive been riding scooters for about 5 yrs and am looking for something bigger. Looking for more of a cruiser style bike, not sporty and not a big café racer or bobber fan. I love the look and feel of Shadows, but will likely be buying from city auction and wont be able to sit on it first. The plan is if Im not comfortable with the bike to flip it and try again. Not set on shadows bc I want a good beginner bike, once Im more confidant I can always upgrade. Im on the smaller side, 5’7 125 lbs, and looking for more opinions from riders. Anyone had a shadow as their first bike? Thoughts? Feel free to throw around year for reference, but generally are they top heavy? Lightweight or not so much? I want a low center of gravity and enough weight that I don’t get blown around the highway but not so much that I cant get her up if (when) I drop it. Also looking at Yamaha Bolts and Indian Scouts, have eliminated Harley Sportster (for now..) Thanks in advice!

·
Registered
2019 Honda Shadow 750 Aero
373 Posts
I can't believe that you're going to be able to find any of those bikes at a city auction and even if you did, they'd be crap or wrecked. I for one would love to see what you come up with.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I can't believe that you're going to be able to find any of those bikes at a city auction and even if you did, they'd be crap or wrecked. I for one would love to see what you come up with.
I definitely understand why you would think that! We've bought a number of vehicles this way, but this will be the first bike. We always call to find out the story of the vehicle we're interested in, just recently my dad bought his service truck this way bc it had been stolen, paid off through insurance, and then found. Insurance companies have no use for them, so they send them to auction and get a couple hundred bucks for it. =)

·
Registered