Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When I started riding and needed to stop, I always kicked it all the way down to 1st gear and applied brakes. After reading several posts on here, I learned that the better method is to downshift and let that slow me down. This is great because I can then upshift and have enough rpms if the light suddenly turns green again. But this morning, I was riding to work and saw a red light ahead and it was too close to go from 4 to 3 to 2 to 1 then stop so I did my old technique and just applied brakes while shifting it down. When the light changed I shifted to 2 and was on my way.
My question is, in certain situations, is it ok to shift down more than one gear at a time? So in this instance, I was in 4 and thought that if I could drop straight to 2nd I'd be fine but I was too nervous to try it. Is this a standard practice and when should it be done? Also, is it fine for the bike??

·
Registered
1,026 Posts
shifting down more than one gear is fine as long as it is relevant to your speed. in other words, don't down shift to 2nd if you're still traveling 40-50 mph. But really, I think you are thinking too much. Just shift (up or down) based on the sound of the engine at your speed.

·
Registered
252 Posts
I don't count my gears. I just use 'em as sound dictates. I never know what gear I'm in unless it's first for starting out or 5th for the highway (because I'm always looking for one more gear that isn't there).

When slowing down, I down shift. When stopping, I kick 'em down till I hit bottom (always).

·
Registered
5,377 Posts
As a chronic engine braker I down shift to a stop ALL the time. Sometimes I even forget to use the brakes. Just work your way gradually down the gears, based on MPH and RPM, in the opposite direction of accelerating.

·
Registered
5,238 Posts