Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I plan to retire in March. My girlfrined bought me a back packers tent for Christmas. Apparently I must have mentioned something about taking a trip on the bike and tent it. I have never done this before so I need some suggestions on what I should be taking. I have a good sleeping bag. I don't plan on cooking so I should be able to travel a little on the light side.
I will be doing this alone unless one of my buddies decide to go.
Thanks for any help.

Jim

·
Registered
21 Posts
That ground can be awful hard and cold. Take a blow up mattress of some kind. Here's a link to some examples. The examples are from a Canadian store but will give you an idea of what to look for. Don't get a foam pad - they are a pain to pack. Get the blow-up kind.

Some light would be handy - the ones you can wear on your head are very useful

Water at campsites can be a mixed bag. You might want something like one of these. I mean the cheaper ones.

Definitely take bug repellent. How are you planning to get coffee in the morning?

Finally, the advice to take a one night trip or two to see if you'll like it is very good. A lot of people get carried away by the romantic notion and find they don't like it at all. If you have a sleeping bag already, consider the mattress and light. The mattress is good even if you are just crashing at a friend's place and the light is handy around the house - much better than a flashlight.

Take a friendly disposition. When you are camping a lot of the entertainment is just wandering around talking to the other campers and swatting lies... oops... flies with them.

Finally take a good, thick book.

Happy camping.

·
Registered
2,349 Posts
I'd add a plastic ground cloth the size of the tent. It will help keep your tent in one piece. I'd also add a self inflating mattress for use under the bag and a travel pillow. Good comfy sleeping makes for good camping.