Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A while back we had a heavy rain set in and I had to ride home in the rain. The further along I went the rougher the bike was running. I'm assuming moisture was being sucked in and screwing with the mix. I made it home but the next morning the bike was difficult to start and only ran roughly for a few minutes before dying. I let it set to dry out for a while but still it will not start. The battery seems pretty strong and the starter turns the engine well but it will not start.

It has plenty of gas, but I'm no mechanic. What should I check next?

TIA

·
Registered
1998 750 ACE
20,108 Posts
Ain`t got sigs turned on;)
Too many pics in sigs, AND on my connection it takes too long to download a page :D

So it`s still a mystery ;)

·
Premium Member
7,691 Posts
If by your own admission, you're no mechanic, 1st, what these guys ^ said, and 2nd get an oem service manual.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
LLLL, Bring it and your manual over, We`ll "git `er done"

What have you checked already?

Got fire"
Got Fuel?
There's plenty of fuel in the tank. Petcock on reg or res and no starty. I'm going to pick up some starter fluid on the way home and test for fuel and fire.

Do you think the heavy rain had anything to do with it? It's got a big intake with a cone filter that was getting rained on pretty heavy.

·
Registered
5,352 Posts
There's plenty of fuel in the tank. Petcock on reg or res and no starty. I'm going to pick up some starter fluid on the way home and test for fuel and fire.

Do you think the heavy rain had anything to do with it? It's got a big intake with a cone filter that was getting rained on pretty heavy.
From several thousand miles away I would say the filter had everything to do with it, and I would say by adding that filter you have restricted your bike to dry weather riding..

But that's all water under the bridge.