Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all I started posting in Technical Discussions first then read that I was ment to post here, my bad. I am new to biking I got a 99 VT400 in November. I sold a 2Liter turbo MR2 as driving costs got so hi, and thought now might be the time to get the bike I always wanted. I didnt think I was going to be able to swing it. But a few mounths later I brought home my new girl. There is some work to be done on her but the winters are long, and I have the time.

·
Registered
777 Posts
Hey welcome, nice looking scoota you have... What work are you planing to do to it..???

·
Registered
1,027 Posts
OK, I get it now from your other post. Does it really have a 400 motor?

If so, I wouldn't be surprised if you couldn't plug a 750 into it if the engine mount points are the same. You would need to park side by side with a 750 equipped bike and cross check brackets, exhaust, sprocket location, etc. It is hard to tell from the photo but your top works and air cleaner look identical to my '98 ACE versus the current 750 motor with its tear drop cleaner. If the fins are bolted on and not a painted casting like the posting above this one, that makes it a 'yup'.

Here is a PS afterthought....I wonder if the jugs and pistons are interchangeable with a 750 as with the HD Sportster 883 conversions to 1200? Hmmmm. Talk to a Honda mech.

·
Registered
3,537 Posts
welcome bud. i don't see many vt400's around these parts.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks soxOZ I was thinking of keeping it simple, new lights front and back, the chrome trim on the rear fender is dull and has little dots of rust all over it so i will change them but probably with the same ones again and a new spray job. I love the pics of your bike did you take them yourself?